Serving Clients Across Texas

Tougher reporting requirements regarding domestic violence in Texas divorces

A parent subject to a court order affecting their children in Texas has long been required to disclose if they were living with a person who had been convicted of a sexual offense. Under a new law passed this year, parents in Texas have more stringent reporting requirements. A parent must disclose to the other parent if:

  1. The parent establishes a residence with a person who is subject of a final protective order in effect when the residence is established;
  2. The parent resides with or allows unsupervised access to a child by a person who is subject of a final protective order; or,
  3. The parent is subject of a final protective order issued after the date of the conservatorship order.

The notice must be given to the other parent as soon as practicable but not later than 30 days after a parent starts residing with a person who is subject to a protective order for the first requirement, the 90th day after the date the final protective order is issued for the second requirement, or 30 days after the protective order was issued for the third requirement.

Most importantly, the failure to make this notice required by this section is a Class C misdemeanor.

This new law is effective as of 9/1/15 and applies to any suit to modify a court order rendered before that date.

See the enrolled bill language here.